top of page

I still call Australia home…..but I’ll call K-State Family

It’s hard to believe I am writing my last post from Manhattan, Kansas. If someone had told me back in January, what an incredible experience I was going to have, I probably wouldn’t have believed them – as the concept of learning, travelling and making lifelong friends seemed just too good to be true! On Monday I hosted a morning tea for my professors; complete with all things Australian, hot tea, lamingtons, Anzac biscuits and vegemite & cheese on toast! It was nice to share photos and food from home, and say thank you to an incredibly gifted and passionate group of educators. I then made my way to St Joseph, Missouri to visit with Eric Grant, and the team at Grant Company – they sure know how to make an Aussie girl feel welcome!! What an incredibly talented and creative team, my morning here flew by!

I spent the next day and a half exploring every facet of the American Angus Association, first meeting with Allen Moczygemba, CEO for a comprehensive overview of the association and its activities. Over the next day and a half, I met with teams from operations, member services, communications, Angus Media, Angus Youth, digital services, Angus Genetics and the Angus Foundation, for your time and warm welcome, a huge thank you must go to Brenda, Jerry, Clint, Chris, Rick, Jaclyn, Caitlyn, Jacque, Ginette, Andy, Steve, Shauna, Milford and Dan. I feel incredibly blessed to have had so much time and access to what is the epicentre of Angus in America.

On Thursday I drove out to Salina, to the local livestock auction. This sale moves at a more rapid pace to what I had previously experienced in Manhattan, which also meant that I had more difficulty following the sale and prices!

Thursday afternoon I rode with Dr Nichols as we travelled to each of the animal units at K-State, this school is blessed with incredible learning resources!

I couldn’t think of a better way to finish my time at K-State, than to watch my friends and fellow students graduate - I was as proud as any parent sitting in the stadium! These new graduates are passionate, articulate, intelligent young people, and they make me incredibly excited about where the industry can go with them in the driver’s seat!

When I first arrived in Manhattan, I had no idea about the K-State family, writing it off as something ‘American’ – how wrong was I! From professors to students, I now have a collective of people I consider lifelong friends, and bound by purple and white, family. My K-State family; you’ve got me to say things like ‘good deal’, ‘dang’, ‘lets go’, ‘y’all’ and ‘pickup truck’, you’ve thrown open doors to your businesses, ranches, homes and families, you’ve taught me, and offered opportunities that I never could have dreamed of. I can’t thank you enough – and can’t wait to welcome you all ‘down under’!

Of course, opportunities like this don’t just appear, I need to say a huge thank you to Angus Australia, Jim Conroy & the team at Semex and Dr Larry Corah, Dr Dave Nichols & the team at K-State. Thank you for having faith and trust in young people, thank you for opening my eyes to the global beef industry and thank you for continuing to support the fabulous opportunity that is this scholarship.

On Sunday I fly south to Texas, to start the next part of my adventure – slightly more tourist and slightly less beef, before making my way back to Australia – all the more richer for my time in Kansas.

bottom of page