top of page

From the heart of Kansas

This was one of the rare weeks in which I stayed in Manhattan, Kansas all week– but this certainly doesn’t discount it, if anything I spent time in the real heart. Earlier in the week I ventured out to Fink Beef Genetics again, to spend the day with Galen, Lori and Chad, gathering and preg checking cows. While my observation of ‘it might be pregnant’ was usually met with laughter; I am so incredibly grateful for the time and generosity this family has shown me, and their patience for teaching and sharing with me.

I also headed to KABSU (Kansas Artificial Breeding Services Unit) for a day this week. I was able to meet the team, tour the facilities and spend the day shadowing the technicians as they took and analysed semen samples and filled and froze straws. Huge thank you to the team here for opening their business to be and tolerating my endless questions!

On Friday night Chancey Williams and the Younger Brothers Band, and Casey Donahew were playing in Manhattan, I am continually amazed at the access to live country music here – and thoroughly enjoyed the concert, even if my two-stepping does need some practise!!

On Saturday I ventured out to Lindsborg, Kansas – known as America’s ‘Little Sweden’. I enjoyed seeing the little touches of Sweden across the town, including the architectural influence, and of course the dollar horses that decorated main street.

I was also able to inspect some of the local farming land and attractions, including the old mill and multiple galleries. With the sun finally shining, Kansas really did turn the weather on for me to explore this week – finding some fabulous people, who are truly the heart of Kansas.

bottom of page