top of page

Counting my Blessings

Monday started perfectly, riding out to bring cows and calves 4 miles into the home yards. Once in, we again split the calves from the cows, working both groups to tag, vaccinate and drench.

On my way to close a gate, I managed to sneak a peek at a heifer and fresh as fresh calf – thanking my lucky stars for moments like this!! Monday evening we headed into town to share delicious Tex-Mex and celebrate Miss K’s first day at school in Baycity – I am so blessed to have found a family that welcomed me so warmly! The basketball finals that evening had the house divided, Nancy and Jack (another visiting aussie!!) were backing Michigan, while Gene and I were cheering Villanova – I can happily report that we took the bragging rights, as Villanova took the title! Checking calving heifers again before turning in for the night, to find another had calved – this new baby was so new it still had its umbilical cord attached – I didn’t think I could get much luckier!! Tuesday we were set to work cattle on another block about 20mins away, so horses, motorbikes, vaccine and working gear was loaded early. With 3 on horseback and 1 bike, we gathered cattle from 3 pastures.

We split calves from cows, and worked each group individually drenching and vaccinating cows first. At lunchtime it was time for me to say my goodbyes to the working crew, and make my way back to ranch to head to the airport.

Weather out of Dallas meant that my flight was first delayed, and then cancelled! But thanks to the incredible hospitality of this family, I was able to stay with Jenna and her husband Jonathon in Houston – waiting for me with a wine and cheese platter (after my own heart!) and big smiles in their home, I felt like I had hit the jackpot after a long day!

I did make it back to Kansas – eventually! And straight back into classes, including a presentation in Beef Systems on alternate methods of keeping cows, with particular focus on dry lotting. This class included a visit to a local dry lot, and the opportunity for students to interact directly with producers, an invaluable opportunity for those interested!

Saturday was Open House (show day) at Kansas State – hosting the Little American Royal; a showmanship competition, allowing all students the opportunity to participate in the preparation and showing of various species. I was lucky enough to have prepared an Angus heifer from the K-State purebred beef unit over the prior days and weeks. What an amazing learning opportunity for students! I was also incredibly lucky to have the help and support of some hugely talented students at K-State, and was pleased as punch to place 3rd in my class!

As the weeks fly by, I can’t help but think how lucky I’ve been to have this incredible opportunity – and the chance to push way outside my comfort zone!

To the Kubecka family; for the long post-lunch walks on the ranch, watermelon on the back porch, basketball games, homemade ice cream, croquet, iced tea, cows, horses, laughs, memories and for solidifying all of my preconceived stereotypes of Texas, I can’t thank you enough! But ultimately, for opening your ranch and your family, and for making me feel truly at home – I am so blessed to have you, my Texas family, in my life!

bottom of page