top of page

Gloves to Calves – Kansas to Montana

I had hoped this scholarship would expose me to all aspects of beef production – I didn’t expect it to cover it all in a week!

This week was the start of Dr Greigers Artificial Insemination class, not having seen much of this, I jumped at the opportunity to help out! Monday afternoon we headed out to KABSU to run through the cows for class, and inject PGF to bring some cows into heat for later in the week. Dr G picked out a cow with a toned cervix, to let me palpate – I’d never done this before! He also found a cow that was approx. 180-200 days pregnant, and got me to palpate her, I was able to feel the calf move - it was incredible!!! The look on my face must have been entertaining because Dr G laughed out loud. In the evening, it was time for the AI class, and Dr Nichols and Dr Gregier gave the students an overview of the fundamentals and then out to the cows to practise AI gun entry.

I also completed my Beef Quality Assurance training this week – a national program that raises consumer confidence through offering proper management techniques and a commitment to quality within every segment of the beef industry. Allowing producers and industry affiliates to become certified through online training modules. Bob Weaber presented to our Beef Systems class on Tuesday afternoon, but rather than ‘teach’ he challenged the class to think about what an ‘efficient’ cow looks like, and thinking about how to moderate production in an industry continually selecting for extreme trait performance. Back to AI class in the evening, covering correct semen handling techniques – I can’t believe how lucky I am and the opportunities provided to me at K-State. Wednesday I packed up and joined a friend from college, driving home to her family Ranch in Montana for spring break – 3 states, a lot of miles and at 1am we arrived at Milk Creek Reds Ranch, Plevna, Montana. We had arrived in the dark, and although I knew there was snow out, I wasn’t prepared for the view out of my window in the morning – all white snow!

Layers on – compression tights, wool socks, long sleeve shirt, t-shirt, jumper, scarf, beanie, coveralls and coat – it was time to head out to the ranch! I don’t have the words to explain what an incredible few days I have shared with this family – from feeding cows in the snow, to sale preparation, to weighing and tagging calves. The absolute highlight of my time here was being able to watch a heifer calve – given my lack of beef production background, this was a whole new and incredible experience. I feel incredibly lucky to have these opportunities!

On Friday it started snowing again, I have never seen anything like it – I couldn’t tell where the land ended and the sky started!!

Saturday was sale day! In fresh snow, I wasn’t a whole lot of help – but more the entertainment as I tried to get around, which involved lots of falling over, laughing, trying to get up and ultimately ending up on the ground in a pile laughing some more!

Watching the sale was a really enjoyable experience, as was meeting and talking with the people that had come!

I can’t thank the Ketchum family at Milk Creek Reds enough for allowing me to become a part of their family and ranch, and helping me create memories that I will never forget!

bottom of page