top of page

NCBA – Road Trip to Phoenix, Arizona.

After classes on Monday, I packed my bags and met the Collegiate Cattlemen’s Club, loaded up the vans and headed off on the road bound for Phoenix, Arizona. 1,806kms and three states later we arrived – I was a lot more comfortable in the warmer Arizona temperature!

Although the group had told me how good NCBA was going to be, I wasn’t prepared for the week that followed!

I attended Cattlemen’s College, including sessions covering genetic technologies, cattle ID and management and, one of my favourites, Beef Business survival stories, some incredible true stories from Yon Family Farm, 6666 Ranch and Pratt Feeders.

The opening general session was with Rhee Drummond, a city girl turned ranchers wife, turned blogger who now writes cookbooks and has her own food network show – worth a google search! The conclusion of this session also signaled the opening of the trade show, 8 acres of trade and display spaces, from every business possibly connected to beef animals and production. The following days were a mix of speaking with vendors, attending education sessions covering everything from ‘the transition to the e-commerce grocery’ to ‘colt starting’, and hearing that I ‘don’t sound like I come from Kansas!’ – always delivered with a cheeky smile!

Thursday evening we were treated to the ‘Phoenix Fiesta’ at Corona Ranch, Mexican inspired food, drinks, a Mexican rodeo, hot air balloon and the highlight - live music by Paul Bogart!

Friday was a full day, kicking off early with the best of beef breakfast, honouring an incredible range of beef producers and industry affiliates. The second general session filled most of Friday morning; I feel incredibly blessed and inspired to have heard the story of Jim Abbott, a one-handed baseball pitcher who made it to the major league. He redefined Adjustability, Determination, Accountability, Perseverance and Trust for me and will forever challenge me to adjust the way I play the hand that life deals me. I was then lucky enough to attend the emerging beef leaders summit, seated at an incredible table full of driven young industry advocates, and enjoyed Bruce Vincent’s story - sharing lessons to be learnt from logging. An infectiously passionate man, sharing not only enthusiasm for his own industry, but a drive to share his story so that other industries can learn from the road he has travelled.

The last few hours of Friday afternoon, were spent finding any square metre of the trade show not already explored. Before spending the evening at the ‘Cowboy Comedy Club’ and laughing so hard my belly hurt! The real highlight followed – when Chancey Williams and the Younger Brothers Band played!!

By 7am on Saturday we were back on the road to Manhattan, one missed turn, an accidental detour to Texas and 5 states later, it was 3am Sunday morning and we were back in Kansas! Just in time for – Happy Super Bowl Sunday!! – which I enjoyed watching with my housemates. Although none of us really understood the game well, we had a great selection of snacks – and I am hoping that the Eagles win is a good omen for AFL season back home!!

bottom of page