top of page

Coming to you from KSU


Finally, here it is - my first blog post from Kansas State University, Manhattan KS.

The last month has flown by, in organised chaos, as I obtained my US visa, confirmed travel plans, packed and celebrated Christmas with my family.

I travelled from Adelaide to Sydney, then boarded my first A380 to fly long haul from Sydney to Fort Worth, Dallas, Texas. I stayed overnight in Dallas, before flying into Manhattan on Saturday. Thankfully it was mostly blue skies and pleasant travelling.

On arrival in Manhattan, I was surprised to see remnants of snow on the ground – but locals have assured me, that last week was cold, even for them! The weather has been a bit of a shock, leaving Adelaide in 44 C (111F) and landing in Manhattan on a ‘warmer’ day at 11C.

I'm settling into my apartment in Jardine complex on campus, which I am sharing with three lovely girls.

I think my little home town, Freeling SA, could fit into the KSU campus…. Multiple times! My classes officially start tomorrow; I’m excited to meet, in person, the staff here at KSU that I have been emailing for so many months!

I feel like this will be both the longest and shortest 5 months of my life, and I am so grateful that I have this opportunity from Angus Australia and Semex – I’m looking forward to sharing my adventures with you!

bottom of page